Ladakh Parliament Seat: Congress nowhere in picture

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leh: If nothing unusual happens, Ladakh Lok Sabha is likely to win by the Independent candidate from Kargil Hanifa Jan, this is what political observers feel keeping the ground perception in account.

According to political observers and politically conscious citizens, Congress is nowhere in the picture and there is a direct contest between the Kargil-sponsored candidate and the BJP candidate from Leh.

The Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency is going for polls on 20 May. The contest is between between Congress candidate Tsering Namgyal, leader of the opposition in Leh Autonomous Hill Development Council, the BJP’s Tashi Gyalson and independent candidate Hanifa Jan who was the former president of the National Conference.

Today, a mega rally was addressed by Kargil-based candidate Hanifa Jan in Kargil Bazar in which thousands of people participated. Due to the rally, Kargil town witnessed a massive traffic jam.

Former Minister and present Councillor Feroz Ahmed Khan told that there is the least possibility of vote division in Kargil. “In Leh, there is a contest between BJP and Congress candidates, and the votes will get divided there but that will not be the case in Kargil. There is every possibility that Hanifa Jan backed by different political, socio-religious parties will make it up to the parliament,” he said.

A former MLA from Congress wishing not to be named also said that a Kargil-based candidate will emerge victorious in the election. He confirmed that Hanifa Jan has full backing from the Congress Kargil Unit. The Islamia School, Imam Khomeini Memorial Trust, and other religious organizations of Kargil have also extended support to Hanifa Jan.

Kargil region has 7,049 more voters than the Leh district; Leh district has 88,877 voters and Kargil 95,926.

Ladakh Buddhist Association president Chering Dorje Lakrook also claimed that Hanifa Jan has a strong chance of winning the seat. [KNT]

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.