Tasaduq, Mir sworn in as ministers in PDP-BJP govt

Tasaduq, Mir sworn in as ministers in PDP-BJP govt


SRINAGAR : Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti’s brother Tassaduq Hussain Mufti was sworn in on Thursday as a minister in the PDP-BJP coalition government in the state.

Governor NN Vohra administered the oath of office to Tassaduq and Javaid Mustafa Mir at the Raj Bhawan’s lawn. Both were sworn in as cabinet ministers. PDP leader Tassaduq Hussain Mufti.

He was earlier in-charge of the chief minister’s grievance cell. Prior to his nomination as a member of the upper house of the state’s bicameral legislature, Tassaduq resigned as head of the cell.

Meanwhile Javid Mustafa Mir, senior PDP leader and MLA from Chadoora constituency in Badgam district who also served as a cabinet minister in 2015 under the senior Mufti administered oath.

He was dropped when Mehbooba took over as the chief minister in April 2016.

Portfolios of the two newly sworn-in ministers would be announced later on Thursday. Tassaduq is likely to be assigned the Tourism and Culture portfolio which was with his sister, sources said. (PTK)

Previous articlePeople who joined hands with RSS, BJP are not Muslims: Akbar Lone
Next articlePolice foils Hurriyat meeting at Geelani’s residence
Kashmir Patriot is a prime ‘Digital Media’ venture in the state of Jammu & Kashmir. It is a new era digital news platform for the technology savvy generation. It is a smooth blend of video, audio, text and pictures, a complete multimedia digital platform. In the time of digital world, Kashmir Patriot is a window to the State of Jammu & Kashmir for comprehensive coverage and up-to-the-minute news, views, features and beyond.